Wiki Stranger Things
Wiki Stranger Things

« Écoute, tout ce que je dis, c'est que je ne suis peut-être pas le connard, d'accord? »

Lonnie Byers est un antagoniste récurrent dans la première saison de Stranger Things. Il est interprété par Ross Partridge.

Histoire[]

Passé[]

Lonnie Byers est né à la fin des années 1930/40, probablement né et élevé à Hawkins. Il est possible qu'il ait fréquenté l'école aux côtés de Joyce Byers, ce qui explique comment ils se sont rencontrés. Au cours des années 1960, Lonnie et Joyce se sont mariés et ont eu leur premier fils nommé Jonathan. Jonathan mentionne que Joyce et Lonnie se sont aimés à un moment donné, mais il n'était pas présent pour cela, ce qui signifie que leur mariage est devenu un problème depuis le début. Le 22 Mars 1971, leur deuxième fils Will Byers est né. Bien que Will était proche de Joyce et Jonathan, Lonnie était extrêmement peu favorable à l'amour de son fils pour les jeux vidéo, le dessin et Donjons & Dragons, l'appelant bizarre et pédé. Pour le 10e anniversaire de Jonathan, vers 1977, Lonnie l'a fait chasser avec lui et a forcé son fils à tuer un lapin, faisant pleurer Jonathan pendant une semaine. En raison de la négligence de Lonnie en tant que parent, Jonathan est intervenu en tant que figure paternelle de Will. Le jour du départ de Lonnie, les frères construisirent un fort pour Will dans les bois près de la maison nommée Château Byers. En 1982, Lonnie vivait à Indianapolis. Il a commencé à sortir avec Cynthia.

1983[]

Lorsque Will a disparu, Joyce a appelé Lonnie à plusieurs reprises, non pas parce qu'elle croyait en la possibilité que Will soit avec lui, mais parce que le chef Jim Hopper l'a fait. Il n'a jamais répondu à son téléphone, mais sa petite amie l'a fait, et elle a raccroché à Joyce une fois qu'elle a réalisé qu'elle était son ex-femme.

Jonathan est ensuite allé chez Lonnie pour chercher Will. Lonnie ne se souciait pas que Will ait disparu et a blâmé Joyce.

Après qu'un corps que l'on croit être celui de Will ait été retrouvé dans une carrière, Lonnie est venue chez Joyce et a prévu de dormir sur son canapé pendant quelques jours; Joyce croyait qu'il était là pour les funérailles de Will. Joyce a découvert plus tard que Lonnie venait uniquement pour gagner de l'argent grâce à Sattler, la société qui possédait la carrière où l'on croyait que Will s'était noyé. Joyce l'a alors violemment menacé et l'a expulsé de sa maison.

Personnalité[]

Lonnie est un homme totalement méprisable, rien de moins qu'un harceleur. C'est un ivrogne, grossier et un salaud complet. Il est extrêmement égoïste, abusif et est pratiquement dépourvu de qualités rédemptrices, sauf pour venir à la «rescousse» de son ex-femme quand elle avait besoin de lui et essayer de la dissuader de ce qui semblait fou en raison des lumières de Noël autour de sa maison et de la destruction d'un trou dans son mur ainsi que de dire à son fils de retirer une affiche parce que c'était inapproprié. Malheureusement, ce n'était pas le cas car il est venu simplement pour exploiter la «mort» de Will comme un moyen de gagner de l'argent avec Sattler, la société qui possédait le carrière prouvant qu'il n'a aucun amour et respect pour son ex-femme Joyce, et en a encore moins pour ses deux fils, considérant son plus jeune fils sensible Will comme un faible et un déchet. Il sait à quel point sa famille le déteste et est plus que disposé à les contrarier.

Références[]

FANDOM


Lonnie Byers is a recurring antagonist in the first season of Stranger Things. He is portrayed by Ross Partridge.

History

Background

Lonnie Byers was born sometimes in the late 1930s/1940s, most likely born and raised in Hawkins. It's possible he attended school alongside Joyce Byers, which explains how they met. Sometime during the 1960s, Lonnie and Joyce married and had their first son named Jonathan. Jonathan mentions that Joyce and Lonnie did at one point love one another, but he wasn't present for it, meaning their marriage became a problem from a start. On March 22, 1971, their second son Will Byers was born. Though Will was close to Joyce and Jonathan, Lonnie was extremely unsupportive of his son's love for video games, drawing, and Dungeons & Dragons, calling him a queer and a fag. For Jonathan's 10th birthday, around 1977, Lonnie made him go hunting with him and forced his son to kill a rabbit, making Jonathan cry for a week. Due to Lonnie's negligence as a parent, Jonathan stepped in as a father figure to Will. The day Lonnie left, the brothers built a fort for Will out in the woods by the house named Castle Byers. By 1982, Lonnie was living in Indianapolis. He began dating Cynthia.

1983

When Will went missing, Joyce called Lonnie multiple times, not because she believed in the possibility of Will being with him, but because Chief Jim Hopper did. He never answered his phone, but his girlfriend did, and she hung up on Joyce once she realized she was his ex-wife.

Jonathan then went to Lonnie's house to look for Will. Lonnie did not care that Will was missing and blamed Joyce.

After a body believed to be Will's was found in a quarry, Lonnie came to Joyce's house and planned to sleep on her couch for a few days; Joyce believed he was there for Will's funeral. Joyce later discovered that Lonnie only came to make money from Sattler, the company that owned the quarry where it was believed Will drowned. Joyce then violently threatened him and threw him out of her house.

Personality

Lonnie is an outright despicable man, nothing short of a sleaze. He's a drunkard, uncouth, and a complete slob. He's extremely selfish, egotistical, abusive and is virtually devoid of redeeming qualities save for coming to his ex-wife's "rescue" when she needed him and trying to talk her down from what seemed crazy due to having Christmas lights around her house and smashing a hole in her wall as well as telling his son to take a poster down because it was inappropriate, unfortunately, this was not the case as he merely came to exploit Will's "death" as a means to make money from Sattler the company that owned the quarry proving he has no love and respect for his ex-wife Joyce, and has even less for his two sons, viewing his sensitive youngest son Will as weak and a waste. He's quite aware of how much his family hates him and is more than willing to spite them.

Relationships

Appearances

Season One appearances
The Vanishing of Will Byers The Weirdo on Maple Street Holly, Jolly The Body
The Flea and the Acrobat The Monster The Bathtub The Upside Down

Family tree

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Joyce Byers Family Tree icon 001
Joyce Byers
 
Lonnie Byers Family Tree icon 001
Lonnie Byers
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Jonathan Byers FamilyTree icon 001
Jonathan Byers
 
Will Byerd Family Tree icon 001
Will Byers
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Memorable Quotes

  • "Look, all I'm saying is, maybe I'm not the asshole, all right?"

Trivia

  • In the season finale, Lonnie was going to return and help Nancy and Jonathan fight the Demogorgon instead of Steve, who was supposed to die.
  • Within the tie-in comic series that focuses on Will's point of view throughout the first season, it's revealed during "The Flea and the Acrobat", Lonnie seals the broken wall of the Byers house. This inadvertently blocks the portal of the house, preventing Will from escaping the alternate dimension. [1]
  • Due to him being estranged from his family after the events of Season 1, it's unknown whether Lonnie is aware that Will is alive.
  • Ross Partridge the actor who portrays Lonnie Byers, can apparently be seen in the background of the season 4 "table read" video, approximately 12-15 seconds into the video. This would indicate that the character of Lonnie will be returning to season 4.

Gallery



References

  1. Stranger Things (comic series): "Issue 3"
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.